Problem with changing Field Types in a Base Table! Can't edit existing field!

I really hope someone can assure me, a Newbie, while I try to learn LibreOffice BASE, version 7.4.3.2. :grinning:

I have been unable to import my databases from Microsoft Access, so I had no choice but to begin creating my tables from scratch.

I have now discovered, however, an issue that is very concerning to me (but perhaps I am just doing it wrong):

After I saved the first table, I tried to go back and change the Field Type from CLOB to Text VarChar. But it wouldn’t let me! So I had to DELETE THE FIELD completely and enter it again at the very bottom row of the table design.

This is really starting to worry me. :worried: Because I am a Newbie, I may accidentally choose the wrong field type or length while designing my tables, etc. Then later on, after my tables are populated with data, will that mean that I will LOSE DATA if I have to delete a field name and re-enter it at the bottom?

The main concept to absorb is: Base is no database, it connects to databases. It is some kind of GUI to handle a database. What can be done is limited to the elements Base AND database can handle in a common language. Other stuff may need other solutions, for example an ALTER TABLE statement in the SQL-Window.
LibreOffice installs 2 database systems, you will at the moment usually deal with a embedded HSQL V1.8 as default, but Firebird is also possible to use (and it may be noted the default bilbliography is actually dBase)
If you dont wish to loose data YOU need to make precautions: Instead of delete and recreate you could create an additional column with new type and transfer all data in the new column. After this is done you can delete the original column and rename the new one to the old name. You should check before deleting anything, if your conversion was flawless.