Query syntax for subtotals and total in Base

I’m having trouble with the query syntax for subtotals and a total. My research has found what is called an extension “Rollup” and I haven’t been able to get it to work. I have a query that provides subtotals and that is:

SELECT “Item” AS “Item”, SUM( “Amount” ) AS “Amount”
FROM “Counting”
WHERE “Date” = {d ‘2024-02-26’ }
GROUP BY “Item”
ORDER BY “Item” ASC

Any help would be appreciated.

I don’t see the question here. My guess is, you wish to add another line below with a total for all grouped items?
You could use a UNION and add another line below like

SELECT 'Total:' AS "Item", SUM( "Amount") AS "Amount"
FROM "Counting"
WHERE "Date" = {d '2024-02-26'}

(I corrected smart quotes. Please use code tags, when pasting code here.)

Thanks for your response.
You’re correct in that I’m going for a grand total and your script gives that to me. I need to figure out how to use the UNION instruction to combine your script to mine. I’m new at all this.
What are code tags? I have a lot to learn, including extensions.
M.

See the linked section of This is the Guide…; you might find the entire document useful reading.

The HSql documentation has more technical information on using SQL; in particular for the UNION it says

UNION and other set operations

Multiple SELECT statements joined with UNION, EXCEPT and INTERSECT are possible. Each SELECT is then treated as a term, and the set operation as an operator in an expression. The expression is evaluated from left to right but INTERSECT takes precedence over the rest of the operators and is applied first. You can use parentheses around any number of SELECT statements to change the evaluation order.

So essentially you would have

SELECT this, that from TABLE where something
UNION
SELECT another from TABLE where something

IMHO a UNION is only possible when you have the same number of columns, so I would add second column name:

SELECT this, that from TABLE where something
UNION