Selecting two fields from one list box in Base

Here is what I am doing. I am a Ham radio operator and I need to create a simple database contact logging program. The fields I need are “Date/Time”, “Signal Report”, " the U.S. State of the person contacted" and the “points” (score) assigned to that specific U.S. State. The logic is that a smaller state is more difficult to work so it should have more “points” assigned to it.

This is where I am at so far. I can auto update the Data/Time, I have that covered. I also assigned a default signal report, got that covered. What I need is a way to use a List Box that displays the U.S. state along with its associated numerical point value. These two pieces of information can now populate the “State” and “Points” fields in the table logbook. I can click the list box and assign a state or a point value but not both.

Thanks! Inquiring minds want to know.

Lowell, KD8HD

A list box shows an information in the form. By default it will save another information to the database. All the content will be filled by SQL like this: SELECT "Show", "Save" FROM "Table".
You could read “Save” from the current value of the list box:

oControl = oForm.getByName("NameOfListbox")
stSave = oControl.getCurrentValue()

You could read “Sow” by the position of the selected Item:

oControl = oForm.getByName("NameOfListbox")
stShow = oControl.ValueItemList( oControl.SelectedItems(0) )

Don’t know if this helps.

1 Like

Thanks RobertG. I’ll digest this and give it a try. I’ll get back to you.

Hello again,

I stumbled upon a possible solution for you.
set strA=yourlistBox.getItemText() - This is the text that is showing in the list box. (string)
set varB=yourlistBox.selectedValue() - This is the value of the listbox’s bound column. (variant or integer)
You can then use the strA and varB variables for macros or to save in tables.

1 Like

Thanks, I’m looking through your config. I’ll get back with you after I do.