LS | Chapter | E# |: | E | T | # | LE

Here’s the result after “Update Index”:
Chapter : Foreword
Chapter : JOHN AND COLOMBA
Chapter : I GIVE YOU MISS DOLOMAN
etc

I have two questions:
1/ Why E# renders no Chapter Number?
2/ How make TOC not to use the word Chapter before Foreword?

(I am new to LO. Reading Writers Guide most diligently and studying the forum’s topics on TOC, I feel overwhelmed with information. Most probably the things I need can be achieved much easier than I have tried in the last three days.)
for-libreoffice-forum.odt (21.9 KB)

Automatic Numbering oh headings is configured in Tools - Chapter numbering. It offers many tricks for formatting headings. Numbering is off by default. Note that normally, chapter titles correspond with outline level 1. Once you tell Heading 1 styled text to be numbered, all chapter titles will be numbered, so you need separate paragraph styles for Introduction, Preface, etc. You can set their outline level to 1 so that they, too, will end up in the TOC.

rossa,

please upload your ODF type sample file here.

1 Like

You can suppress automatic numbering on selected chapters by putting the cursor at the very beginning of the chapter heading then pressing Backspace. No need to define a special surrogate for Heading n (which is a delicate task for newbies – and even confirmed users – to get it consistent with the rest of the outline feature).

(For @anon87010807: this is an acceptable direct formatting exception to the rule)

Follow @Zizi64’s advice and upload a sample file (by editing your question).

1 Like

Thanks for pointing that out, @ajlittoz, didn’t know that.