What programming languages are Libreoffice Macros written in, and which one should I focus on in order to create my own (mostly simple) macros?

I’m looking to find someone close to where I live for face-to-face support programming Macros in Libreoffice, however most companies don’t want to touch it as it isn’t a Microsoft product…

So, to my question: which programming language should I focus on to achieve the aforementioned goal?
Once I know this I could simply seek out someone competent in the appropriate language rather than asking for ‘help with Libreoffice’.

It’s worth noting that I don’t know any coding language; I have no prior knowledge whatsoever. All I know is simple formulae from having taught myself to use Libreoffice.

Thanks as always.

It depends entirely on what you want. Python would be a better language, but there is more of a bump in learning just starting out. LO BASIC has the least resistance. If all you want to do is manipulate some numbers or text and have that show up in a cell, then start with BASIC.

Function MyResult(Source1, Source2)
   MyResult = Source1 + Source2
End Function

Then you can use =MyResult(A1,B1) to add A1 and B1.
Once you start wanting to change other cells, look up values, change colors, etc., LO macro programming becomes very difficult. It is based on UNO, which is a vast “under-the-hood” set of programming pieces that all have to be manipulated just-so to work at all. @Villeroy has compared it to learning to fly in a 747.

Do a search on this site for “BASIC resources,” etc., to get links for beginning material.

Don’t be too cynical about Microsoft on this. If I were a company I would site license Microsoft Office unless I had a very, very special developer pool. When I go back and do macro work in MS it is like LO was distance training with weights on my ankles. LO programming is not like the LO “normal” user experience, which does rival MS in many ways.