I have a writer document that I have saved previously. When I click on the X in the top right of the document to close it after making changes, expecting to save it. When the save thingy comes up it always has the ‘don’t save’ button highlighted. Is there a way to get it to default to the save button?
This may be a customisation by the package provider on your platform. Here, with LO 126.96.36.199 under Fedora Linux 35, the Save button is highlighted by default.
Mention your OS name and LO version for more accurate information.