This is the workflow adopted for long-lived documents. For easy understanding, suppose it is a user’s manual for some software.
When the next release is planned, the user’s manual enters revision phase. Source material is the manual for the active release. Revision mode is enabled in the .odt document and revision team contributors patch the relevant sections.
Everybody in the team can see each other’s proposal: LO shows the original text and the new text (eventually with comments, questions, author’s name and time stamp in comment notes). Revision bars are added in the left margin to highlight where changes occur.
An editing committee discusses the proposals and amends them. When an agreement is reached, the editor-in-chief accepts the revisions which are incorporated into the to-be-final document (and removes comments).
Unfortunately, at this step, all revision information disappears. When the manual is distributed to the end users, they have no clues about what has changed. Their only resort is to re-read the manual in its entirety. This is not user-friendly.
Is there any “intermediate” revision mode setting where the revision history is removed (keeping only the “production” text) but where the margin revision bars are still present?
Of course, to start a new revision iteration, this mode must be reset to “all accepted revisions” so that the revision bars are also removed.