Button for Update Query in Base Macro

Hello, I have been trying to get my sql update query to work with a button. I am not a coder, but try to understand. I had found and tried several snippets with no luck. The code I’ve been working on is below. I end up with a syntax error at the executeUpdate stmt. What am I missing, pls?

Sub ConnectToDatabase
    Dim Context
    Dim DB
    Dim Conn
    Dim Stmt
    Dim strSQL As String

' Get the database context
    Context = CreateUnoService("com.sun.star.sdb.DatabaseContext")
    DB = Context.getByName("Bibliography") ' Change the database name as needed
    Conn = DB.getConnection("", "") ' Provide username & password if required (HSQL default is blank)

' Create a statement
    Stmt = Conn.createStatement()

' Your SQL query
    strSQL = "UPDATE ""Electricity Monthly Totals"" SET ""Cost"" = " & _
             "SELECT SUM((""NoUnits\"" * ""Power"" * ((""OpDays"" * 24) / 1000)) * 0.09983) + " & _
             "(SELECT SUM(""Cost"") FROM ""Expenses Table"" WHERE ""ExpCatID"" = '8'" & _
             "AND (""AcctID"" BETWEEN '4999000' AND '4999999') AND (""Date"" BETWEEN '2024-05-01' AND '2024-05-31'))" & _
             "AND ""ConJobID"" = '14') + " & _
             "( SELECT SUM(""Cost"" ) FROM ""Expenses Table"" WHERE ""ExpCatID"" = '8'" & _
             "AND ( ""AcctID"" BETWEEN '4999000' AND '4999999' ) AND ( ""Date"" BETWEEN '2024-05-01' AND '2024-05-31' )" & _
             "AND ""ConJobID"" = '13' )  AS ""May 2024 Total Bill""" & _
             "FROM ""Elec Est Table"" WHERE ""Finish Date"" BETWEEN '2024-04-16' AND '2024-05-15'" & _
             "Where ""ElecTotalID"" = '8'"

' Execute the query
    Stmt.executeUpdate(strSQL)

' Close the database connection
    Conn.close()
End Sub

msgbox strSQL
Copy the code from the message box into a code editor. At first sight:

1. The SELECT statement needs to be in parentheses.
  2. Parentheses do not match.