Can I open a database made in LO Base with another application?open

I have a LO base database which gets major data changes at this time of year -so a good time for me to make changes to the set up.

I am the sole user, will likely only ever be one user at a time. Data contained is ‘confidential’ and some work needs to be done somewhere without reliable internet access so everything needs to be contained on one computer (with a backup on a separate hard drive.)

I am self taught - started using databases with MS Access - so there are gaps in my knowledge and some things I don’t really understand. I have been reading around but getting more confused.

I get that I am using LO Base as a ‘front end’ - which I think means basically as a GUI?
And my data is in a ‘back end’ database - in this case firebird. And it is embedded so it is on my computer and not on a server anywhere?
I like using Base to make forms/enter data/move data to and from calc etc etc but find it clunky for some things.

Last year (doesn’t seem that long ago!) Ratslinger suggested I used firebird directly - not sure how to do that? What I need to install?
(I might be being stupid but I don’t think I want firebird server -as that wouldn’t be just on my computer?)

I have recently started using Linux Mint (and loving it -its like having a new computer - dual boot but rarely boot into Windows, its too irritating).

Ideally what I want is to have the database (firebird) in one file, on one computer and to be able to open it with LO base and if possible another ‘front end’ - I’ve been looking at Flamerobin and Kexi -neither of which seem to recognise .odb files.
Do I need to split the database?

Does this make sense? Is it even possible?

(Also just remembered I was supposed to file a bug report on LO Base and I don’t think I ever did -think I got stuck on something and then forgot -sorry Ratslinger - I’ll try and sort that later today)