Custom header for each chapter

What I have:
Chapter name (Heading 1): The First Chapter

What I want to achieve:
The chapter name in Spanish (ex: El primer capitulo) in the header.
The Spanish chapter name appears in the header but not in the document.

I’m thinking about creating a page style for each chapter then manually type in the header, but it’s too cumbersome.

Is there any elegant solution to this? Thank you.

Thank you @mikekaganski and @ajlittoz for taking your time to help me.

Actually, what I want is like @mikekaganski described: arbitrary, free-form text in headers/footers, related to “chapters” but not the same as their names. My document is in Vietnamese, “The First Chapter” is just a simplified example.

I’m fairly new to Libreoffice, I only knew how to insert predefined fields like chapter name, page number. I’m not familiar with Set Variable field or Frame.

As far as I understand, I can hide some texts in the document and use it in the header, am I right? Can you show me how to do it? Much appreciated!

I realize that my proposal may be no less cumbersome.

When I needed a similar thing (arbitrary, free-form text in headers/footers, related to “chapters” but not the same as their names), I used a frame with Set Variable field. The frame had a “do not print” property; I placed it somewhere near the heading of the chapter (usually at left or right margin), and used that field value in the header/footer. (Note that in headers, it will only be available starting from the second page of the chapter…) And I copied the frame into each chapter. A mess :slight_smile: