Get Selected Text Boxes and Combine into One

Hello! I’d like to write a macro that combines the text boxes I’ve selected into one and remove the uncombined text boxes. This is using LO Draw.

I’m not new to Excel VBA or Python (preferred) but I am new to LO Basic. If I could just get started that’d be great. For instance, I don’t know how to get the current selection or make a new text box.

Or, even better, if someone wants to write up such a macro that’d be awesome! :slight_smile: Thanks in advance!

EDIT: An uncombined text box is a list of 2 or more selected text boxes in “viewing” order. i.e. top-to-bottom, left-to-right. Assume the text boxes do not overlap.

FURTHER CLARIFICATION:
My use case is to select multiple text boxes and combine them into a singular text box and then remove the original text boxes that were selected. The combined text box should have the aggregate of all the text contained by the original selected text boxes.

By viewing order I am talking about reading order. I wouldn’t want the aggregation of the text to be in the wrong order, after all. This is why I say “top-to-bottom, left-to-right” as this is the natural order in which I read English. Furthermore, you are right in that I cannot assure anything. However, if the solution comes close then I can potentially further refine it to be acceptable.

What do you mean by “combine … text boxes”? What is an uncombined text box? Unselected in this case?
It’s not difficult. Basically. If I assume you want the texts from the selected shapes accumulated into one, you may want to get these texts in a specific order. There are mainly two orders that may be different: The “logical order” in which the shapes originally were created, and the “order as viewed” after the shapes were moved into their current positions. What about overlapping (probably 100%)?