How create a line chart in a specific format, rather than the one Calc seems to be choosing

I am new to Calc.
I am accumulating a series of blood pressure readings in columns, together with the date and time of each day’s set of entries, and I have created a line chart to display all six pressure readings on the y-axis.
The two things I currently can’t get right are:

1. I cannot see how to make the hidden column storing date+time appear on the x-axis. Calc has automatically used 1,2,3… as the x-axis values.
  2. My columns have the most recent values at the top, and the oldest at the bottom. I want to see the oldest readings at the left of the chart and the newest at the right; Calc is automatically displaying the data with the newest readings at the left and the oldest at the right. Again I cannot see how to change this behaviour.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for the prompt reply.

Yes, your chart is showing in the way that I was expecting.

On my chart I have the date and time in their own columns. I then concatenate them into the hidden column where they certainly will be text! My first point was that when editing the chart, I can’t seem to find anywhere that I can specify what the x-axis series should be.
I can see that there is a Date+Time format of YYYY-MM-DD HH:SS, so I can change to that, but how do I tell Calc to use that as the x-axis series? And will that automatically put the oldest entries on the left?

A line diagram is misleading in such a case.

• Make sure that the date-time-values actually are formatted numbers! (Other contributors already told you so.)
  • Don’t use a Line Chart, but a X-Y (Scatter) chart in such cases!!!
    Only this way you get a diagram with slopes presenting the informtion to the eye usually associated with slopes: Speed Of Change.

Most recent on top is a good idea.

See also this attached erxample. (138.2 KB)

Why?