I need help creating a Student Information Database for a medium size school

Hello everybody!

I am very new to base and databases in general. Yet I am trying to build a relatively simple database for a school. The school has around 2500 students and is working at the moment with excel sheets to manage the student data and their grades. I feel like I know what I want to have but I severely lack the knowledge to make it happen and thus struggle at the simplest things.

For example: in MS Access I was able to use a form to have a drop down selection while having the option to add a new value which was then stored as a new line in the corresponding table. I tried this here with the combobox (and the listbox) but if I understand it correctly the newly entered value is only stored in the memory and not in the table.
Another very simple thing is that I wanted to normalize my table so I made a separate table for Nationality etc. which works fine but in the Students table I only manage to see the ID instead of the name.

I would appreciate if somebody could take the time to look at my work so far and help me make it better. I am very grateful for any input, help, recommendations, sources or anything else that comes to mind.
I will gladly provide more information about what and why I did what I did so far.

They only want a way to look up a student and seeing all their information in one place: Personal Data, Payment Information and Grades. Ill attach a file that shows how they store the data so far.

My prototype so far:
Test-2.odb (26.6 KB)

Forms:
FormStudentData: Is the first form I made which almost works. I feel like if I could replace the foreign keys of the columns Nationality, From Highschool and Skill / Major with the actual name it would almost be usable.