libreOffice 5.1.3.2 spell checker not working

I’m using libreOffice 5.1.3.2 on a KUbuntu 14.04LTS system with all updates intact. I cannot get the spell checker to work. It says all words are correct. I am English and I’m trying to use English spell check with an English written document. I’ve been using LibreOffice for a few years on different systems and despite reading in multiple places about it being an old bug, I’ve never experienced the problem. Now I have the problem on one of the latest versions of the software.

1. On the sytesm I’ve reinstalled myspell-en-gb && myspell-en-us

2. I’ve purged and re-installed LibreOffice,

I’ve checked:

1. Tools > Options > Language Settings > Languages
  • User Interface: Default-English USA
  • Locale setting: Default-English USA
  • Default Languages for Documents
  • Wester, Asian,& Complex text layout (CTL) checked
  • And checked “Default-English USA, English USA and English USA”
  • “For the current document only” is blank
  1. Tools > Options > Language Settings > Writing Aids
  • Available Languages modules: The following are checked “Hunspell SpellCheker, Libohyphen Hyphenator, OpenOffice.org New Thesaurus”
  • User-defined dictionaries: The following are checked “standard English USA, technical”
  • Options: The following are checked “Check spelling as you type, check grammar as you type, check uppercase words”
  1. Tools > Language > For Selection > English USA “is checked”

2. Tools > Language > For Paragraph > English USA “won’t let me check English USA”

3. Tools > Language > For All Text > English USA “won’t let me check English USA”

4. Tools > LanguageTool > Check Text “this is checked”

Update: Trying to click (check) #6 and #7 makes the spell checker work again.

Does anyone know why when I click #6 and #7 a check does not appear in the box, but the spell checker starts working?

Same problem on Windows 10.

Same problem. Why is no one helping?