Play video from basic macro

How to play a video from basic? This works for an audio file:

oPlayer = oAVMgr.createPlayer(sFile)
        oPlayer.setPlaybackLoop(False)
        oPlayer.setMediaTime(0.0)
        iLevel=6
        oPlayer.setVolumeDB(iLevel)
        oPlayer.start(0)

With a video file, sound is audible, but no video. So I presume I need oPlayer.CreatePlayerWindow(…), but I have not a clue how to use it. The documentation at XPlayer Interface Reference is pretty opaque to me. Any help welcome.

Ubuntu 22-04 LO24.2.5.2

2024 July 24

I have the same problem. No solution found, for myself and in the forum.
The issue should be addressed in the help file, I think.
Any help welcome.

1 Like

… how do you get the oAVMgr ?

@ms777 Like this:
oAVMgr = CreateUnoService(“com.sun.star.comp.media.Manager_GStreamer”)

… cool. After 20y+ with OO I am still learning new services …
This works for me on Windows 10:

oAVMgr = CreateUnoService("com.sun.star.media.Manager_DirectX")
oPlayer = oAVMgr.createPlayer(ConvertToUrl("C:\Users\Martin\Desktop\1811076_1024x576_H264_HQ.mp4"))
oPlayer.start()
wait 5000
oPlayer.stop()
1 Like

Thanks for your reply @ms777. I am amazed to think I have also been using OO or LO for 20 yrs, but still feel like a newbie. Your code appears similar to mine which produces sound ok. Did yours work for video? because mine does not seem to. Incidentally, without .comp in the createUnoService statement, Ubuntu does not start the media manager. (I’ve edited the question to include OS and versions.)

Hallo
Ubuntu? simply use python with subprocess:

from subprocess import run
run(['vlc', '~/path/to/videofile.mp4'])

also see python subprocess Dokumentation and

cvlc --help

Can you play the video outside LibreOffice? All necessary codecs abailable? (I’m not familiar with current Ubuntu-installs.)