Replace every number in a document with its *2 product

I am very new to Basic and would like some help with a problem.
I’m trying to find every number in a document multiply it by 2 and replace it with the result.

I would appreciate any help I get

I think: cou can do this witout any macro. The Paste Special feature has an arithmetic modifier function. Study it, and try it.

I am very new to Basic

Please download and study Andrew Pitonyak’s free macro books.
And download one of the excellent Object inspection tools: XrayTool or MRI. Then you will able to list and examine the properties and methods the programming objects like the document, the sheet, or the cell…

Note that the question is tagged writer.

Sorry, I have not noticed that…

In this case:

• Maybe the writer is a wrong tool for this task.
  • The recommended books may will help for start.

The “numbers” are textual characters in a writer document (except in the Tables, where the LO can make some calculation with them), therefore it must decide: the goal is
“1818” when the “original number” is “99” or is the excepted result “198”?

https://help.libreoffice.org/latest/en-US/text/shared/01/05020301.html?&DbPAR=CALC&System=WIN
search for ‘NatNum modifiers’

Welcome!

Every? Or don’t touch page numbers and numbered lists? And also the numbers of inserted images, frames and other numbered objects?

You will help us a lot if you give an example of what you want to receive. For example, “After executing the macro, the text The amount of the contract for the supply of 10 (ten) computers is 15327 coins should look like The amount of the contract for the supply of 20 (ten) computers is 30654 coins, and I will replace the word (ten) with (twenty) manually”

2 Likes

@JohnSUN I think it is tagged »writer« by mistake?!

Usage the Labels and an user defined macro and the Numbertext extension (developed basically for the Calc) maybe can help in this case.