Several database backends for a single LibreOffice Base file?

I’m willing to use LibreOffice Base as a desktop frontend to a remote shared (PostgreSQL) database. Since I am new to LibreOffice Base, I bought and read the “LibreOffice 4.0 Base Handbook”.

As I understand it, if I want to implement a search or a filter in a Form, the form has to be backed by a database table, and the search parameter by a column in that table. The standard way to do seems to be to have a single-row table. In a context of a shared database engine, that sound like bad design to me, to store such “runtime” data in the shared database, especially if several users may use the same ODB frontend simultaneously…

Is there some way to have some “runtime” data that is not backed in the database?

As an alternative, is it possible to have several database backends for a single ODB file? I’d be happy if I could store the main data in the remote PostgreSQL database, and the “runtime” data in a local HSQLDB.

Another option would be to create a temporary table, private to the connection, when I connect to the remote PostgreSQL database. I guess it might be possible with a macro.

For the record, I’m currently using LibreOffice 5.2.7 on a Debian Stretch 9.8 system, but upgrading to a newer LibreOffice is an option if it helps.

Hello,

Please explain what “runtime” data is that you seem to refer to. Base simply requests access and updates of data from the database it is connected to. Base itself is NOT a database, but just a front end to a database.

@Ratslinger What I call “runtime” data is things like, for example, the content of the input field (in a Form) where a librarian will type the name of a reader in order to find the right entry in a huge Reader table. I see no reason why this should be backed in the database, especially if several librarians may be using the same database simultaneously.