Shape objects shifting position after saving

Hi, I’m new to LibreOffice and have just downloaded version 24.2.5.2. At first this appeared to satisfy my needs where MS Word had failed yet again. I am trying to create tables that ultimately contain a large number of vertical and horizontal lines/arrows and a number of text boxes. I started by creating a nested table (two tables each with 3 columns side by side on A4 landscape) and copied and pasted lines of text from MS Excel to which I subsequently added more data and the arrows/lines/text boxes. All was fine with a single page but when I added a second page all of the arrows/lines/text boxes shifted to the extreme right after I saved the document. The first page still seems to be ok. I’m not sure that this software is the most appropriate for what I’m trying to achieve and would welcome suggestions. However if this is an appropriate use of the software I’m at a loss with what to do. I fully accept that this might just be my ignorance of the working of LO and that I’m trying to run before I can walk! I could attach the relevant file or a screenshot if I knew how! Kind Regards Peter

Please let us know which operating system you are using and which file format you are saving in. Thank you.

Comment on this comment from me and use the upload icon to upload your file.

Writer is meant to handle text (more exactly a text flow which will be split into pages as necessary).

Lines, arrows (or any graphical shape) and text boxes are external to text flow. They won’t cooperate well with your text. In particular, an arrow can be anchored to a paragraph but you can’t guarantee that the tip will point exactly to one character in all circumstances after edit.