Table of Contents adding leading dot before page numbers

UPDATE:
ajlittoz

I expect there to be no leading dot before the number. I expect that there will be the character of periods in a row between the ToC reference and the page number. Thats what the table of contents instructs in the Entries tab with “Fill Character .”

What I expect and used to have in prior versions of LO is
APPELLANT1 FIRST ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR … 1

What I actually get is
APPELLANT1 FIRST ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR … .1

Edit ToC Dialogue Box

With tthe leading dot

With no leading dot which is what I seek.
no leading dot

Does that make it clearer?

EarnestAl-
I would be happy to report a bug if it is one. I strongly suspect user error, however. If it turns out that I am not making mistakes, I will report it. Meanwhile, thank you for the “use parallel versions” tip.
[The probelm is that I was a mathematician, not an engineer, so it has to be RIGHT, not just work. It’s a whole mental illness thing. Drives my engineer husband nuts. As his satisfaction of just getting it to work drives me nutso!]

ORIGINAL

Here are two versions of a document which I have pared down considerably, but believe have left enough information so that someone might be able to help me. Every style is represented (I believe).
This issue has to do with the Table of Contents and every other index.

On the BRIEF PAGE NOS CORRECT it operates as it always has.
On the BRIEF NUMBERS BROKEN a dot appears before the page numbers in the TOC.
I can find neither rhyme nor reason.
It has occurred when I have deleted some pages. Restoring via [CTRL] Z does not solve the problem.
It has happened when I alter the style for Contents 2. Reverting does not solve the problem.
I have not messed with editing the index because I don’t know how so that is unlikely to be the problem unless it auto-incorrects in some form or fashion. I also haven’t investigated that. Hoping for an easy cure :slight_smile: