Toggling text styles changes who word

Hello there,

My question is similar to this one from February of this year:

When I am typing out a bibliographic entry in Chicago Style in LibreOffice Writer, I type the author’s name, insert a common, use command+I to activate italics, type the title of the book, then use cmd+I again to stop typing italics in order to place a comma in roman after the after the title.

However, when I hit cmd+I that second time, it removes italics from the whole previous word. Is there a way of addressing this, or something I can do to tell LibreOffice that I am done with the word in question without adding a space?

It is a small issue, but I work as an editor and I need to make sure that text styles are applied accurately, and this makes it much more likely I will introduce errors into the text.

I am using a MacBook Pro (early 2011) with High Sierra (10.13.6). I regularly work in both English and French and have changed very few of the default settings in LibreOffice (7.0.6.2).

Thank you for any help. I’m grateful for the excellent community here.

Both in English and French? When this begin to happen? After an update?
Not with me in English. LibreOffice 7.0.6.2 (x86); OS: Windows 6.1.

Doesn’t happen here in 7.1.5.2 in any language, OS: Fedora Linux 34. Are your documents saved .odt (though this does not seem relevant here)?