Who destroyed base?

Hour after hour spent tying to get things working that used to work perfectly. I’ve been using base for many years now, and I am absolutely aghast at how bad it’s gotten. One new problem after another I’ve found. I’ve ask about a few of them here already. Some things I have been able to workaround like windows showing up with no frames.

Really did anyone test their code before it was pushed to the world? I am despondent. I have databases I need to be able to use! I have tried for many weeks to fix them to get them working again. Some things I have been able to fix, but I keep running into new things. Today it’s that subforms won’t work properly. WTF?

RULE # 1 of software development: DON’T BREAK EXISTING THINGS. This rule has been broken. I am now looking at buying a new computer to load an old backup onto just so I can function. I can’t really explain how angry I am at the shitty code that has been pushed out. It would have been better to not fix anything than to make things worse.

Nice rant. But completely useless, unless it calmed you down a bit…

If this is your conclusion, I doubt all your observations. IMHO it should be possible to use your current computer for this. That’s, why we have backups.
Good luck for your proceedings, whatever that may be. (As you didn’t give any details my conclusion was: You don’t seek help.)

2 Likes

LOL. Do you know a single software that never broke this “rule” while evolved? Don’t confuse an ideal with the reality.

And now think a bit. You have an office suite, where a lot of code is shared between several components (e.g., Writer code is used a lot in Base forms). You have a huge shortage of developers interested in Base development. You have a huge shortage of test coverage over Base. You have rapid evolution of, say, Writer compatibility and features. And you realistically expect things never breaking?