Numbered list alignment - how does it work? What do all the labels mean in the list options?

I changed from OpenOffice, because it is no longer supported/working.
I simply wanted to use a numbered list, with numbers right aligned (so text is not moved right, going from ‘9’ to ‘10’ ).
The answer on this site hasn’t helped me… I am a newbie.
Have I asked at the correct place here, on this forum?

I guess that you are using a wider or larger font and the Ordered list icon, rather than a list style.
You just need a bit more space for the tab between the numbers and the words, I will use Liberation Sans at 14 pt

1. Select the list and click Format > Bullets and Numbering.
  2. Click on the Position tab
  3. Increase the measurement at Tab stop at: and Indent at: to, say, 1.59 cm (5/8 ") for both. If you’re going to 100 then maybe 1.91 cm (3/4") would be better.

If you want level two to align then

1. Click on level 2 and set Aligned at: to 1.59 cm or 1.91 cm depending on step 3 above.
  2. Still at level 2, set Tab stop at: and Indent at: to 2.54 cm (1.91 cm + 0.63 cm), that is 3/4"+1/4" = 1"

OrderedListTabStop&Indent_107260.odt (30.9 KB)

If the above looks too complicated initially, you could instead:

1. Select the list and click Format > Bullets and Numbering.
  2. Click on the Position tab
  3. In the Aligned at: field, where is reads 0.64 cm (1/4"), you could set that to zero. The list would be aligned at the margin instead of indented but the list will run to 100 without problem.

You can download the Writer Guide from English documentation | LibreOffice Documentation - LibreOffice User Guides

Which answer? Please give a link.

I am using the Bullets and Numbering option in the Format tab.
How do I set a default format for the numbering?
Everytime I use this, I have to specify all the parameters again.
That is the Aligned at: Numbering alignment: Numbering followed by: Tab stop at: Indent at:
Every single time - surely I have missed something.