Row Height- disable Automatic Row Height (permanently)?

The Question

I am trying to move from Excel to LO Calc (… again …) especially since I’ve been a Linux fan for years. (I’ve been using Excel for over 25 years.) However, in particular the Automatic Row Height problems, e.g. extremely slow performance, are likely to prevent this. The key question is "How to disable the Automatic Row Height"? Especially if this can be done by default on a permanent basis.

The Reasons(s)

1. In my work this automatic function is simply annoying, and (for me) only wastes productive time because I have to undo what it does (i.e. the “damage” it causes). Fortunately in Excel it is turned off by default.

2. Since it is sooooo slow - for my current worksheet taking 10 minutes or more !!! each time it starts up. This makes it impossible to contemplate using LibreOffice Calc. (In comparison Excel takes only 2 or 3 seconds for this size worksheet.)

Background

The current worksheet has 169,548 rows and 9 columns - in total 1,525,932 cells with data. Yes, it is a large spreadsheet but it is handled by Excel and should be within the scope of Calc. I found following posts with related problems:

How to optimize "optimize row height" ?)

So I created a fresh, empty Calc file in ODS format and pasted the data points in using CTRL-SHIFT-V to avoid any formatting or other unwanted artifacts. Just one single column of 169,548 rows with long text entries took 6 minutes to complete! The same operation using a number between 0 and 20 was almost instantaneous.

What can be done to permanently disable the automatic Row Height adjustment (which I would never actually use even if it wasn’t so slow)?

System #1

• AMI Motherboard with a quadcore i5
  • CPU (16GB RAM)
  • Linux Mint 18.3 MATE (64bit)
  • LibreOffice Calc 6.2.6.2

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Edit #1